Oats and pico de gallo

July 22, 2009

I started off today with the same breakfast that I have almost everyday during the week while listening to Slate’s Cultural Gabfest. This breakfast being old fashioned oats with banana and agave nectar. 

oats

I had such high hopes for dinner last night. I had a recipe for Black Bean Soup that sounded really great. In the end I could not take more than two spoon fulls. It had an odd texture and really lacked flavor. I did however love the pico de gallo that I had made on the side. I mixed together tomato, green pepper, yellow onion, jalapeno pepper, cilantro, olive oil, chili powder, salt, and pepper. I served it on top of thin toasted slices of Asiago Cheese bread from Panera (inspired by a recipe from the Panera Bread cookbook). Although the soup was a failure the pico de gallo was a total hit. I plan on having the leftovers with toasted whole wheat pita triangles for lunch. 

pico

Currently listening to and loving Land of Talk (an incredible band from Canada) and almost finished reading with “The Hour I First Believed” by Wally Lamb. I am excited to start “A Wolf at the Table” by Augusten Burroughs.

nardy

My awesome cat Menard. He sat and watched “The Wrestler” with us. I think he was impressed with Mickey Rourke’s performance (lol). I loved the film.

Leave a comment