Soup for the sick

October 20, 2009

I am sick. 😦 It was inevitable that I would catch the awful cold that seems to be spreading around. It’s not H1N1 but it is still unpleasant and exhausting. Everytime T or I are sick I make my tomato soup. It’s delicious, simple, and really comforting when you are feeling under the weather. I have a hard time expressing my recipes in measurements because I rarely follow anything exactly and I mix things up a lot. I developed this soup long ago from a combination of different tomato soup recipes I had found. Here is a gist of what I put in it:

Jena’s Tomato Soup

  • 1 yellow onion diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic diced
  • 1 Big can of whole peeled tomatoes
  • 1 small can of crushed fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1 small can of vegetable broth
  • salt and pepper

Saute the onion and garlic over medium heat in a little olive oil till translucent. Add rest of ingredients. Bring to boil then reduce and simmer for 30 mins. Remove from heat and let cool. Once the soup has come to room temperature carefully blend it in Blender. MAKE SURE THE SOUP IS AT ROOM TEMP BEFORE BLENDING!! (I learned this lesson. Once I was making this soup for a camping trip with friends, I was in a hurry to finish and blended it while still hot. Hot soup exploded out of the blender covering me and my kitchen. It was painful and messy!) After blended return to pot and reheat. Enjoy!

I served the soup with slices of toasted Roasted garlic bread topped with tomato and a little cheese. I think it would have been great with soy cheese or no cheese at all.

soup

I just drank a big cup of cold care pm tea and now I think I will relax and read. I hope this cold wont stay long. Take care!

tea

Leave a Reply

