Veg Times Recipes!

January 26, 2010

Hello everyone! I hope all is well. I am back in school. I’m thinking of this time as grad school prep. I decided to go back to boost my GPA and take some upper level courses with the possible end result being grad school. Its now or never. So my schedule is demanding and I am still trying to get into an organized routine and find a job. If I can achieve this, I will then be able to blog more, which makes me so happy!

I want to start with the latest issue of  Vegetarian Times magazine. I made two really great recipes from this issue this weekend. My band started recording Saturday!! So I made dinner for everyone. (more on that in a moment) I made these Iced Oatmeal Cookies.

These were delicious!!!!! Seriously my new favorite! Thank you Veg Times! On Sunday night I made the recipe for Pasta and “meat”balls. It too was really good. I think the Gimme Lean Sausage was a little dry but still quite good. Please forgive the sloppy photo!

Back to the Saturday dinner…I made tacos with homeade salsa and rice. It was SO yummy. I love the zen of chopping tons of veggies for a meal that I serve to my friends. I snapped this before prepping…a glimpse of my little kitchen.

For some reason, maybe hunger, I forgot to take a photo of the table of yummy tacos. So I snapped a quick pic when I enjoyed the leftovers Monday. Two days later and still really good.

I resolved to myself that I would strive to eat mostly vegan in the new year. I hope that one day I will eat fully vegan. I wish I could tell you it was easy for me. I definetly know the reasons to give into it fully yet I havent. But I can tell you that I am working on it. I recently purchased a nice, new hand mixer. My old cheap model literally fell apart so I was happy to buy a nice new one. I was excited to see that it came with a milkshake attachment! So of course, I had to try this out right away. I made a vegan chocolate soy milkshake last night. Two ingredients and oh so good! When I first told T what I was making he turned up his nose. He hates the taste of soymilk. But I made him try a taste and he loved it and ended up sharing it with me. A success!

I am making a birthday dinner for a friend this weekend. I am also making her a special cake. I am so excited to use the new blender again!!

Have a great week!

2 Responses to “Veg Times Recipes!”

  1. tinako said

    Those tacos look good. Are they vegan? What is the shell?

    I think going vegan can be a very difficult decision. In hindsight it seems like a no-brainer to me, but I remember agonizing over it. Good luck.

    • foodiephotog said

      Thank you. The tacos are not vegan. They have a little bit of cheese on them. I think its been programmed in my mind to add cheese to foods like that but it would have been great without it. The shell is LaTortilla Factory Corn & Wheat Chipotle tortillas. They are spicy, soft and SO good!

Leave a Reply

