Stuffed Peppers

March 16, 2010

For dinner tonight I decided to try something new. I love bell peppers. I eat them everyday. So I decided I would make Stuffed Peppers. There are endless possibilities to choose from for stuffing but I used spanish rice and black beans. They were a little crisper than I expected but still very good. Next time I will steam them before roasting or something to make them softer.

To create:

I hollowed out the peppers and roasted them at 425 degrees for 10 minutes. While that was happening I made spanish rice and mixed in cooked black beans. I stuffed the peppers and returned them to the oven to cook for 5 more minutes.

I also made potatoes in little foil packets to go along side the peppers. I cut up a couple handfuls of little Yukon Gold potatoes and boiled them for 10 minutes. I then drained them and mixed them with chopped garlic, onion, salt, and a little cayenne pepper. I divided them onto to double sheets of foil and wrapped them up. Then I roasted them with the peppers for 15 mins. Open very carefully to let the steam escape. Very Hot! I ate mine without cheese but it could certainly be added if you wish.

(the end result!)

I bought myself a small bouquet of beautiful white tulips today.

Listening to Land of Talk…such a great band!

Wishing my amazing mom and step dad a Happy Anniversary. They are a beautiful example of a couple meant to be, who love through all the ups and downs of life. I love you both SO much!

Leave a Reply

