Adventures with Curry

March 18, 2010

So my husband Trent LOVES indian food. He recently took me to his favorite local Indian restaurant for lunch. It had been 10 years since the last time I ate there. It was one of those times where I got sick and I associated it with the food and was never able to return. Well T was so eager about having me give it another go, I agreed. It was wonderful. So fragrant with great depth of flavor. I felt quite ambitious last night and decided to recreate one of T’s favorite vegetable curry meals. I made a lentil soup, vegetable bean curry over basmati rice, and a quick version of naan. The result: lentil soup was way too salty. I used regular veggie broth when I should have used low-sodium. The veggie curry was okay. It was certainly lacking somewhere but T actually liked it. He even had a second helping which is a great compliment. The naan did not look or taste like naan. It was more like a pizza crust but it was good. I need to do a lot more experimentation with this type of cuisine but I think it was good for a beginner.

(the so-called Naan rising)

(lentil soup)

(the end result)

I had bananas on the verge of going bad so I made one of my favorite recipes: Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins! They are SO good. I got the recipe from one of my favorite food blogs Another One Bites the Crust. I follow the recipe except I only use 1/2 Cup of Brown Sugar and no white sugar.

I bought some beautiful fabric today and I am embarking on some new sewing projects. They have to stay secret for now because most of them will end up as gifts!

Have a great weekend and get out to enjoy the weather!

One Response to “Adventures with Curry”

  1. […] 1, 2010 I have to admit that after the last time I tried to cook Indian cuisine, I was a little discouraged. It did not turn out well. I […]

Leave a Reply

