Something New & an Old Favorite

March 25, 2010

I made a couple new interesting meals so far this week. I have been really wanting to try Gardein products for a while now. I have heard they are really good. So when I finally saw the BBQ fake steak kind at the store I thought I would make a faux steak & peppers sub. The result: I did not like the fake steak. The texture and taste was so much like real steak that it kinda grossed me out. However T really liked it. He still eats meat occasionally and he likes some fake meats. He is leaning towards stopping meat-eating all together and I think products like this help in the transition. It has been really important to me that T stop eating animal products only if he came to it on his own. I would NEVER make him stop eating meat. When I became a vegetarian we decided that I would not buy or cook meat. If he wanted meat he would buy and cook it for himself. (This was actually his suggestion) I don’t think you should ever force or guilt someone into a belief system of any kind. They will never truly honor it or be proud of it unless they are motivated to do it for themselves. I think its okay and important to share the knowledge you have learned and your own motivation but allow the person to decide on their own.

Growing up my mom made something we called “Hamburger Pie”. It was inexpensive and really good. I realized as I got older that it is actually a variation on Shepard’s Pie except with fewer ingredients. Our “Hamburger Pie” was made of cooked ground beef and canned green beans mixed with tomato soup and topped with mashed potatoes. It was one of my favorite meals growing up. So I really wanted to try it as a vegetarian meal. I mixed chopped veggie burgers, organic canned french style green beans, and Amy’s tomato soup. I divided the mix into individual dishes and topped them with homemade whipped potatoes. Bake them 350 degrees for 30 minutes and you have a yummy classic remade!

Last Friday marked seven years that T and I have been together. He is a truly incredible man and I have been blessed to be a part of his life. He is my foundation and support and I love him SO dearly!! Our future is so bright because we have each other. I love you baby!

Leave a Reply

