Lemon Cake!

March 28, 2010

I have had a really fantastic weekend. After wanting one for a long time I bought a new bike. Its retro, cherry red, and fabulous! My sweet, sweet husband attached a basket and bell for me which just put it over the top with greatness. I cannot wait for the weather to be dry and warm this week so I can take it out in the sunshine. Yesterday was fully devoted to art. Our local art museum had its grand reopening after a really beautiful renovation. I am volunteering there as a tour guide for local schools so T and I were fortunate enough to be invited to an early morning private tour of the main traveling exhibit with the artist’s granddaughter. It was exceptional. We had a great dinner with friends then returned to the museum for a really moving night of music and art. It was so inspiring.

I made Lemon Cake for dessert. I have talked about this in mini muffin form before. This recipe came from my mother in law and has become my favorite cake. I never liked the taste of lemon in anything when I was young. My pallet has really changed and I am finding myself loving new things all the time. It’s wonderful. So this is a variation on the original recipe but still works pretty well. It’s so easy. You can make a homemade vanilla cake or use a boxed cake mix like I did. For a vegan option use egg replacer in place of eggs and canola oil instead of veg oil. I also change it up by adding less water and 1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice for that extra zing. Bake and let it cool. I made it in a bundt cake mold this time but you can make it anyway you wish. When its cooled completely top it with this simple glaze: 1 cup powdered sugar mixed with 2 Tablespoons of fresh lemon juice and 2 Tablespoons of plain soymilk. You may need to add more liquid or sugar depending on your desired thickness. Enjoy!

Currently listening to the always lovely Andrew Bird

Enjoy the week!

Leave a Reply

