Vegan Enchiladas

August 12, 2010

Hello folks. I’m back with a new dish. A couple of weeks ago our dear friends Will & Heather came to visit. It was a blast. We did some serious exploring. I knew that while they were here we all had to try the all veg Chicago Diner. It was fantastic! So fantastic that my meat-eating husband ordered the vegan nachos and said they were the best he ever had! We are both very excited to return and try something new. So anyway Heather and I ordered the Enchiladas made with spicy meat-free chorizo and potatoes. They were delish. I knew that I had to recreate them. I spotted meat free chorizo at Whole Foods and went to work on the recreation. I also used a new favorite of ours, Daiya vegan cheese. It’s amazing how alike it is to dairy cheese. If you see it in the store buy it. Its pricey but totally worth it.

Vegan. Gourmet. Spicy. Tasty.

First I diced yellow potatoes and baked them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.Then I sautéed them with onions and the meat free chorizo. I filled the tortilla with the mixture and topped with Daiya cheddar. I also topped it with a regular canned red sauce. (I take help from pre-made products from time to time) Reduce the oven to 350 degrees and bake the enchiladas for 20 minutes.

The finished product! Wow. It was so good!

~enjoy~

Leave a Reply

