Testing for NO-Turkey day!

November 24, 2010

Today I am cleaning the kitchen and prepping for tomorrow. This will be the first Thanksgiving that Trent and I are away from our family and friends. In the past the day was bittersweet. Food and family is always wonderful but it can be quite exhausting traveling between parties on a full stomach while trying to give everyone equal time and attention. Although we will really miss everyone we are excited to have tomorrow to ourselves with no time lines. I have set out to make an ambitious menu for two. I want to feel the warmth and comfort of our old home in our new home. Tomorrow is devoted to my husband and our marriage. It will be a day to celebrate us. I am so thankful for his love and support and I want to spend the day reminding him.

For lunch I made a mini broccoli casserole with the excuse that I needed to ‘test’ the recipe for tomorrow. The truth is that this casserole is one of my all time favorite dishes and I really couldn’t wait until tomorrow to make it! This is a simple concoction that my family, especially my sister, has mastered. Frozen broccoli, cheddar cheese, butter, salt, pepper, and a crumbled cracker crust. Absolutely delicious!

I’ll be back soon with more details of our Thanksgiving. I hope your day is filled with good food and great company!

 

2 Responses to “Testing for NO-Turkey day!”

  1. Babygirl said

    I LOVE broccoli so this dish sounds great

  2. Rich said

    Wishing you two, a great Thanksgiving! Your plans sound perfect!

Leave a Reply

