Thanksgiving…finally!

December 1, 2010

All I can say is Thanksgiving with the Mr. was absolute perfection.

We set the alarm for 6:30am and hopped the train downtown for the big Thanksgiving Parade. Honestly when the alarm was going off we looked at each other and questioned if we should get out of our warm, cozy bed just to stand in the cold. But we did and it was great! Somehow we ended up in the area where the news was filming. So all the bands stopped to play in front of us. So fun! And the people around us had such a good energy. They danced, clapped, and cheered for everything. My favorites were the big balloon characters and the incredible marching bands.

We got home from the parade, sipped wine, and talked while I finished cooking. I spent the previous day doing tons of prep work so I only had to do a minimal amount of cooking on the big day.

Trent brought these beautiful flowers home after work the night before as a pre-thank you for all my hard work. So sweet. I was mesmerized by them. I LOVE getting flowers!

The table setting was simple and sweet as I had envisioned when planning the meal.

The menu:

Whipped potatoes

Candied Yams

Baked Beans

Broccoli-Cheddar Casserole

Maccaroni & Cheese

Green Bean Casserole

Stuffing

Buttery Corn

Rolls

I have to pat myself on the back and say that it was SO delicious. And turkey was not missed. We ate, listened to Corinne Bailey Rae’s album The Sea, and talked about all that we are thankful for. We did a lot of smiling.

After we finished eating we cleared the table, put away the leftovers and laid down for a very long nap. It was fabulous.

We woke up and went to see Harry Potter 7 at our favorite movie theater. (They have a Starbucks in the theater that allows me to feed my coffee addiction while watching movies!) The film was very good, maybe my favorite in the series so far. The day was everything that we had hoped for and much more. I think Trent and I are really good at taking pleasure in the simple things and enjoying each other’s company.

The next morning we decorated for Christmas. The apartment is always so much more warm and cozy with the tree up.

Menard’s santa hat on the acoustic. (He hates it but it’s oh so adorable)

I hope everyone has a great holiday season. I want to get sentimental and say that I am so thankful for all of my readers. Your love and support really warms my heart.

Thank you!

4 Responses to “Thanksgiving…finally!”

  1. Trina said

    Harry Potter 7?!! wow I haven’t even seen the 3rd one. thats fabulous that the theater has a starbucks inside. I can see why its your favorite 🙂

  2. Yum! And I love Corinne Bailey Rae!

  3. Ryan said

    Wow, this looks amazing! If we ever wind up living in the same place, we’ll have to do a Marvel Team-up and cook for our respective spouses on a regular basis. You look like an excellent chef! I’ll get by by getting them drunk. Deal?

Leave a Reply

