Breakfast.

December 3, 2010

I’ve always tried to mix it up. I try to avoid getting into ruts of eating the same foods everyday, keep myself from getting bored. When it comes to supper, I’m successful. But during the day I usually end up eating the same things.  As long as I’m enjoying it, I’ll give myself a pass. About a month ago I threw together a healthy granola to eat with my morning yogurt. I truly mean ‘threw’ together. I just put whatever granola like products I had in a bowel and baked it. I love this combination! Its oil-free, fiber filled, goodness with minimal sweetness. I’ve been eathing it almost everyday since it’s creation! I made a mental note of how I did it and recreated the recipe this morning. I thought I would share here. A note to granola lovers: This is not very sweet. If you like it sweet add more honey or brown sugar. Because there is no oil it never gets really crunchy. But I think the crisp, soft texture is quite nice over yogurt.

The goods: 3 Cups Oats, 1/4 Cup Sunflower Seeds, 1/4 Cup chopped Almonds, 1/4 Cup honey or agave, 4 oz. Unsweetened All Natural Applesauce, 1/4 tsp. Vanilla Extract, 1/4 tsp. Cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. salt plus any other nuts or spices you wish to throw in. This recipe is certainly open to interpretation. I like to buy raw, unsalted seeds and nuts. They are just as good with the added bonus of being healthier. I also suggest adding ground flax seeds after it comes out of the oven. Flax seeds are little health miracles offering a heavy dose of Omega-3 Fatty acids and good fiber!

Mix together and spread evenly on a lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake for 10 mins. at 350. Carefully mix it up, re-spread and bake for another 5 mins. Let it cool completely. Store tightly in fridge. My last batch stayed good for 3 weeks.

Plain Whole Soy is a perfect match in my eyes but I’m sure it would be great with any yogurt and some fruit to top it off. I use 1/2 cup yogurt & a heaping 1/2 cup granola.

Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Breakfast.”

  1. toni said

    I am going to try this recipe.. 🙂

  2. kim smith said

    your blog is nice!
    thanks for commenting on mine. [:
    happy new year!
    kxo

Leave a Reply

